Managing the stored data on SecuraMax is an integral part of its operation. Improper storage management can potentially result in unintended loss of videos or longer search times. Also, depending on plan type, unmanaged storage can result in additional overage charges. To manage the storage, file retention periods are used. A retention period is a number of days from when the file is uploaded until when it is deleted.
What factors affect when a file gets deleted from SecuraMax?
- Default Site Retention: When files are uploaded to SecuraMax, a preset default retention period (in days) is automatically applied.
- Tagged Category Retention: Files can be tagged by users with different categories. Categories are created by the administrator and each category has a preset retention period (in days). This is the most commonly used method for setting file retention on video.
- Case Retention: If the file is added to a case, the case can use the file's original retention or a case retention period can be set for all files on the case (in days).
- Locking from Deletion: Individual files can be manually locked from deletion by a user. Once locked, the files will be kept indefinitely until manually unlocked. Once unlocked, files will follow their original retention period.
- Requested File Deletion: Individual files can be manually requested to be deleted. The requests are sent to users with deletion approval permissions. If the request is approved by a user with proper permissions, the file will be removed from the system within 48 hours. This is typically (only) used for accidental recordings or non-evidentiary videos.
When do files get deleted from SecuraMax?
When new files are uploaded to SecuraMax, the upload date is stored in the file metadata. Each day, SecuraMax looks at each of the files that are not locked from deletion, their upload date, and retention periods. If the number of days between the upload date and the current date exceeds the retention period, the file will be deleted.
What happens to files after they are deleted?
After deletion, files are no longer viewable within SecuraMax, and all copies of the file are removed from the system. Although the files themselves are deleted, file metadata is kept and remains searchable. A file deletion record is also added to the metadata for auditing purposes.
Where do I find/adjust the default site retention period?
The default site retention can only be configured by administrative users with the "Manage Site Settings" permissions. Click on the "Admin" menu on the top navigational bar and then select "Site Settings".
On the "Site Settings" page, the first option is the "Minimum Retention (Days)".
If you wish to adjust the setting, change the number of days to the desired number and then press the "Save" button at the bottom of the page.
Where do I view/create/adjust categories and their retention periods?
- To create or edit a category, from a SecuraMax account with admin permissions to "Manage Categories" click "ADMIN" in the top navigation bar and select "CATEGORIES".
- All current categories will be displayed on the page, click on a current category to view/change it, or click "ADD ONE" to create a new one.
- Enter a name for the Category, this is what the user will select when assigning it.
- Select the retention time to videos that have this category associated. If a video is assigned more than one category it will use whichever retention time is the longest.
- Categories can be assigned to rules that allow automatic association based on the content of the video. This feature only works with in-vehicle DVR systems. If desired, click "ADD NEW RULE" select the desired factor/event that occurs on the vehicle, then click the green check box.
- Choose "Save" to begin using the category.
How do I Lock/Unlock a file from deletion?
To lock or unlock a file, navigate to the file on SecuraMax using the Document Search feature. After opening the file detail page, click the "Lock from Deletion" button in the right-side menu. When locked, the button will change to "Unlock from Deletion".
To see all files that are locked, do a search with the filter "Locked from Deletion" selected.
How do I request a file to be deleted?
To request that a file be deleted, navigate to the file on SecuraMax using the search feature. After opening the file detail page, click the "Request Deletion" button in the right-side menu. A box will appear above the button asking for a reason for the deletion request; enter a reason, and then press the "Submit Deletion Request" button.
Once requested, the button on the file detail page will change to "Review Deletion Request" and users with "Delete Approval" permissions will receive a notification and the request will appear on the delete approver's home page under "Awaiting Delete Approval".
A "Pending Deletion Report" can also be viewed by administrative users with the "View Pending Deletion Report" permissions. This report is available by clicking the "Admin" menu on the top navigational bar, selecting "Reports", and then selecting the "Pending Deletion Report" from the left side navigation bar.